top of page

DIY Garage cooling/ventilation

This was a quick and easy project to add some ventilation to my garage. I'm frequently welding, or sanding, or painting, or any number of other tasks that create odors in the air. Some are mildly annoying, some are potentially dangerous with longer exposure. There is a double-hung window in the back corner of my garage. In this project, I will build a simple hanger to suspend a cheap, common 20" box fan in front of the window for forced air movement. It can push air in or out of the window. It can also be relocated up higher so the fan is out of the way of normal window operation.

The first task was to decide on a layout and get the dimensions. I then created a model of my design in Autodesk Fusion360. I cut out the brackets on my CNC, but this shape is very simple. It could easily be cut using a jigsaw or scroll saw. It is not important for the two pieces to be identical, so there is plenty of room for error in the construction. Here is an exported image of design, including dimensions:

Here are the two brackets after a coat of paint to match the window casing:

The next step was to build the mounts for the EMT conduit to attach it to the box fan body. I designed them in Autodesk 123D and then 3D printed them. They are designed to be a snug friction fit on the conduit. I built in a slot to trap a 1/4-20 nut in the mount and then a 1/4-20 screw is inserted from inside the fan. Here are the mounts I made:

After the paint on the brackets dried, I installed them on the window trim using some 2-1/2" wood screws.

Now the fan can be hung from either the upper or lower mount, pointing in either direction.

Here it is in the down position for powered garage ventilation:

And here it is in the top mount for out-of-the-way storage when not in use:

* I have since trimmed down the conduit so it is as wide as the outer edge of the window trim.

bottom of page