top of page

New (to me) table saw!

Today, I scored a great deal on a table saw upgrade for my small garage workshop. It is a used Delta 36-725. I found it on Facebook Marketplace. The seller was fairly close, only about a 30 minute drive to get there. Here it is when I got it back home.

It was in excellent condition. It had a fine tooth CMT blade in it, and the motor and Biesemeyer-style fence were in perfect working order.

The only thing wrong with it was the locking handle on the fence. The center metal bar was still attached, but the outer body of the handle (formerly plastic, I assume) was missing. It worked fine, but wasn't comfortable to use.

None of that is a problem when you have a 3D printer. The dimensions were pretty simple, so I had a design created and printed in no time. Here's the metal pin that came with the fence:

Here is the replacement part that I designed and printed:

The metal pin was already threaded on the end, so I found a screw and washer that fit, and the fix was done:

I shared the 3D design file for the replacement handle on my thingiverse.com account in case anyone else needs to print one.

I am very happy with this upgrade. I got the new saw for a huge discount over its original price. I gained quite a bit of table capacity with this upgrade as well as a better fence system. The fence on my previous saw worked fine, but you had to spend some extra time making sure it was still square to the blade after an adjustment. I no longer have to worry about that.

Future plans for this saw include zero-clearance throat plate inserts and a router lift mechanism built into the right side extension wing. I also want to remove the marginally effective dust chute around the blade, box in the lower cabinet, and add a dust port near the bottom to (hopefully) catch more of the saw dust.

bottom of page